Listening to: “Bad Days” – The Flaming Lips

Hi, blog. Long time no see. I’m sick of dealing with reality at this particular moment, so I’m retreating into your virtual catacombs. Well, I don’t mean reality, per se, so much as The System. Bills, insurance, parking meters, dirty dishes, job applications. That kinda shit. Which actually, is sort of the opposite of reality. I prefer real reality. The kind that doesn’t come in a can.

And when I find that unprocessed stuff, I’ll be sure to give you a holler.

……

I snapped a picture of this grafitti outside CVS in Allston. According to Wikiquote, it’s a Native American proverb:

lasttree

……

Did you know:

Microwaved coffee isn’t so bad.

THE MORE YOU KNOW.

……

My writing gland has been powering back up lately, which is awesome. My friend and I decided to start a thing where each week (viability of timing TBD), we come up with a random prompt and write a 1-3 page story based on said prompt. I came up with:

1. An electric fan
2. An abandoned mine
3. A character who hates to lose at games
4. Fritos

I had a shit-ton of work to do the night I came up with that, but I ended up getting a bead and churning out a story in about 2 hours. It was a great feeling–though I’ve started on tons, I don’t think I’ve actually completed a writing project since college. My finished piece (called “You Can’t Eat Just One”) is far from perfect, but I’m proud to have been able to turn out a finished project that was more than a 400-word theater review.

…..

Otherwise, umm… I’ve been dragging my feet as usual, I guess. Although I did go to a career fair last week, which was, let me tell you, an experience. Not like, a “Woo! Zipline through the jungle! AWESOME!” experience, but a “Who-the-fuck-are-these-people-and-what-wormhole-have-I-fallen-through” experience. Everyone was just trying so goddamn hard, it was painful to watch. I wore my one and only business-like outfit, and felt like I was getting into costume. The fair was in the BU student center, and as I wended my way through the students cramming Comm Ave, I flipped on my aviators and tried to put on my best “I r vry importent busyness wuman!!” face. The guise didn’t last long (this is one of many reasons I gave up on acting).

A lot of the other fair-goers were college kids, and the people at the booths assumed I was too. It was shocking to see how much their demeanor changed when they found out I was a grad who had already been in the “real world” for a bit; one guy’s pitch actually got lower. It’s like he thought he was talking to a child, but it turned out it was actually a midget.

Other than that, saw Ben Kweller play at the Somerville Theatre, and he was pretty great. His music’s just super upbeat and happy, without being obnoxious. Spent most of the weekend helping my friends move, and I got some mad guns and a shiny new ukulele outta the deal. Now I just gotta learn how to play it. The uke, I mean, not my biceps. But it’s totally badass. Black with black strings. This is, like, a ukulele that could kill you. With its eyes.

I don’t usually write about plays I see here (cause work stuff goes in other places), but I saw an incredible show last week–Blackbird by David Harrower, done by SpeakEasy Stage Company at the BCA. Super intense, gritty, elemental-type theater. By the end, I was all shaky and with the sweats. If you live in Boston, you really oughta check it out.

OK, reality–er, The System–is calling me back, with its dishes. They must be cleaned, or they will sprout brains and legs and rebel. Ta.

Did I mention I’m turning 25 in less than a week? Yeah, fuck that.

……

You’re sorta stuck where you are
But in your dreams you can buy expensive cars
And live on Mars, and have it your way

And you hate your boss at your job,
But in your dreams you can blow his head off
In your dreams, show no mercy

And all your bad days will end
And all your bad days will end
You have to sleep late when you can
And all your bad days will end…

