“Love is No Big Truth” – Kings of Convenience

Could it be that I’ve come full circle? Well, maybe not full. And certainly not the circle. But a circle of sorts, and I’ve reached some point in it.

Because my recent comic book renaissance has caused me to resuscitate my own long-dormant drawing skillz. It’s harder to do these days, what with no classes to sit through and doodle nonstop like there were for the first 22 years of my life. But today on the T, I started concepting a strip. I’ve been clandestinely stocking up on drawing supplies from that art supply store across from Symphony Hall. And I got this old, musty figure drawing guide from a used bookstore a few months back.

I can’t seem to draw as readily as I used to. Much more concerned with exactitude, results these days. None of those floppy-haired skinny dudes with the big feet I doodled compulsively in my notebooks. Well, ok, maybe a few of those dudes. They just fly out my fingers like shit water, what can I say?

Anyway, to the point, my dear fellow. I made some concept art for the strip of my main character, who is, well… me. All that autobiographical comic-reading finally got to me.

…………….

Egh… it’s a start. Hopefully drawing the dog’ll be easier.

……….

“I never lack for things to occupy my time. I just lack for, at this point, it feels like traction.”
~ Joss Whedon

