Listening to: “Sentimental Heart” – Zooey Deschanel

Random thoughts for Valentine’s day, 2004: Today is a holiday invented by greeting card companies to make people feel like crap.
~ Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Like fictional and non-fictional single people everywhere, Valentine’s Day makes me do the brooding thing. I know it’s a stupid fucking holiday. And this post is going to be really, really trite and I apologize for it in advance.
It’s just, this love thing….I don’t get it. At least, not on a personal level. I don’t get how two people–No, wait, let me amend that. I don’t get how myself, specifically, and someone else, generally, could fit together. Match. Or whatever. Make a pair. I don’t get how a person could have the patience, and the desire, to be with one person all the time. I sabotage every relationship I’m in because I get bored. Really really fast.

But I know a lot of people who are in love, who are committed to each other, who aren’t searching for the quickest, sneakiest way out. So it exists; it’s not some product of the Hollywood machine, or some other institution, or what-have-you. It’s a thing, A REAL THING, like Divine eating the dog shit in Pink Flamingos. It happens to real people. Love, I mean. Not dog shit. Well, dog shit happens to people too. Actually, dog shit happens to me all the time. Just not love.

Heh. The one time I was in a relationship during Valentine’s Day, he didn’t even come to see me. He sent me a text message that said, and I quote verbatim: “Happy VD, btw.”

It was a wise god who made sure that “Valentine’s Day” and “venereal disease” had the same initials.

